Alphabet List of Christmas and New Year


I knew I needed to post something about my stay at home in England over the Christmas holidays, but instead of listing all the things I did which would probably bore you, I thought I’d do a different take on it, and list things I’ve realised about myself/about England/about Germany/about what I miss/about whatever else that comes to mind in a nice alphabetical list, hoping it gets me really thinking.

So here’s my alphabet list of Christmas and the New Year!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

A is for ALCOHOL

Not the perfect one to start with, as I swear I’m not an alcoholic, but I’ve learnt to pay attention to the percentages on alcohol.

Never assume all ciders have the same alcohol level, and note that about 4 with 7% is about 8 with 3-4%.

Bleurgh.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

B is for BAUBLES

My dad stores Christmas baubles like there’s no tomorrow, along with tinsel and other wonderful things.

It makes it fun to decorate two Christmas trees. The creativity is endless!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

C is for COMPETITIVENESS

No matter how much you say it’s not, it is there.

The males won in both games though. Ha.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

D is for DOMINOS

The pizza company is fantastic, especially on Tuesdays with their ‘Two for Tuesdays’ deal.

Especially useful for New Year party hangovers.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

E is for EGGS

I learnt it’s not that difficult to separate the yolk from the white of an egg, and that I can actually have a good go at a recipe I’ve never done before.

The cinnamon stars definitely made it, though.

Couldn't have done it without separating the yolk from the white.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

F is for FINLAY

Finlay, my nephew, is adorable. Now coming up to 10 months, he can drag (not quite yet crawl) himself across the room, especially when his target is dogs to smack and poke in the eyes.

If all goes to plan, he’ll be having his first holiday in Hannover at some time near Easter. I am so excited! We’re going to go to the Zoo and everything!

No matter how much he beat her up, the dog would always go back to him.

– – –

G is for GERMAN

It’s very difficult to begin speaking German at the click of a finger after 2 weeks of no German conversation.

It’s very easy to listen to and understand, but somehow replying isn’t as quick and easy.

And also don’t teach your family vulgar terms. Especially when they won’t stop saying it and can’t even say it in Hochdeutsch (It sounded like a Kölsch accent).

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

H is for HATS

Hats can be cool, especially when you buy a Sonic the Hedgehog one for your little nephew.

You ready? …

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I is for INTERNET

At my auntie’s over Christmas, there was no internet.

Me and my brother cried when we were told this an hour before we set off for our 3-day stay.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

J is for JUMPERS

Christmas jumpers are beautiful.

Lederhosen are no alternative.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

K is for KATSU CURRY

I will miss this beauty.

Wagamama, please come to Germany.

It's so good.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

L is for LOLA

My wonderful dog. She’s a scruff, her breath smells, but she loves me and I love her.

And she can high-five when she wants her belly tickled.

Lola being all festive on the 5-hour journey to Kent for Christmas.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

M is for MITCH ALBOM

One of my favourite authors. I read his new book, ‘The Time Keeper’, in about 3 hours sat by myself in my auntie’s dining room.

Go and buy his books. You will not regret it.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

N is for NINTENDO

I will always love Nintendo.

Not only did I get a Mario game for Christmas, I also bought a Nintendo magazine, purely for the 2013 wall planner.

It has Mario on it and everything!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

O is for ONLINE GAMES

Of the free variety. They’re a fantastic way to pass time.

But be careful that they do get addictive and you could spend hours on them.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

P is for POKÉMON CARDS

No matter how old I get, the purchase of Pokémon cards will definitely be exciting.

And also, if you have two people buy one each, be weary if you mix them together and pick randomly to add to the fun, because you might just miss your chance to get a Charmeleon, even if it was in your pack originally.

Sigh.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Q is for QUEUES

Just as I knew I would rediscover in England, queues are beautiful. They are nice and neat and orderly.

It was nice to stand in queues without fear of someone pushing in front.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

R is for ROAST DINNERS

I have learnt that a roast dinner is the best food there is out there.

I miss it dearly here in Germany.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

S is for SIMS

Regardless of age, Sims is brilliant. It’s just so simple, yet amazing.

And I did buy expansions for Sims 3 this Christmas.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

T is for TRAINS

Trains in England are beautiful. Not physically, but in terms of time.

One train I took, namely the one from Exeter to Sheffield, set off from Exeter 8 minutes late.

…and arrived 1 minute early in Sheffield.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

U is for UNUSUAL FOOD

I went to Asda with my mum at some point, and guess what type of readymade curry I found?

“Chicken with chilli and chocolate“.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

V is for VANILLA & MANGO SMOOTHIE

It tasted as weird as it sounds.

It even had lumps at the bottom.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

W is for WEEKDAYS/WEEKEND

You lose the sense of what day it is over Christmas.

You have Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and then random days after that which you lose track of until New Year’s Eve.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

X is for X-RAYS

I’ve learnt that, in general, airport security is definitely scary.

Especially when you’re told to stand in an x-ray machine, then take your massive German boots off which take about 10 minutes to get back on, along with already having your belt off and someone feeling around your waist inside your trousers, as well as being accused ‘jokingly’ that your bag looks like a body bag, and not to mention when your key ring is interrogated because of the ‘weird’ looking items on it.

Because I’d obviously carry a portable bomb on my key ring.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Y is for YORKSHIRE PUDDINGS

Linking to roast dinners, Yorkshire Puddings are beautiful and a roast dinner can not be eaten without one or five on your plate.

Served with gravy, of course.

…now I’m hungry.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Z is for Z IS DIFFICULT

I have nothing for Z. Nothing.

I apologise.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I hope that was as fun for you to read as it was for me to write.

I got back to Germany late last night, did half my unpacking (OK, so about a quarter of my unpacking) and can safely say it’s nice to be back, and I’m looking forward to starting back at school on Monday!

