My Surprise Trip to England


So last time I wrote, I didn’t say but I was in a rush. And the reason being was because of my surprise trip to England, in the hope to surprise my mum, dad, and Mummy Gilly (i.e. my dad’s partner).

My little spot in my local newspaper, the Goole Times!

My little spot in my local newspaper, the Goole Times!

Unfortunately, though as I predicted, my mum knew I was coming. How she knew, I will not know, just as I will never know how she knows…well…everything, as most mums do. The most obvious option was me constantly texting my stepdad about the whole thing, yet my mum actually hadn’t a clue I’d been texting him. Either way, she knew, though I’ll give her that she at least tried to pretend to be shocked when I ended up having to tell her over the phone whilst sat in Hannover airport after they’d been in the car for 50 minutes and were stuck on the A1 after my stepdad said they were ‘going out for some tea’… (they were actually going to pick me up from Stansted!)

On the other hand, my dad and Gilly were overwhelmed. As I walked into Blacktoft pub on Saturday evening, both of their jaws dropped. Let’s just say that ‘Challenge: Make them cry’ was a success (though my dad will beg to differ – “I’m just shocked”!). Special thank you to my sisters, Melanie and Katie, who faced a million obstacles in the week building up to it, including pretending they hadn’t got my address so Dad couldn’t send anything to me, as well as the stress of who’s taking who to the pub. It was definitely worth it all in the end!

Me, Melanie, Katie and Finlay at Blacktoft!

Me, Melanie, Katie and Finlay at Blacktoft!

I spent Friday evening to Monday morning at home home (i.e. Yorkshire) and it was wonderful to see everyone again, especially a certain someone who made an appearance several times in my posts before I came to Germany – he has shot up, which isn’t surprising with it being around 4 months since I last saw him! He says ‘hiya’ and everything! (or at least it sounds like he says ‘hiya’…)

After a meal at Frankie & Benny’s with my mum, stepdad and Adam, a meal at Blacktoft with my dad’s side of the family, and then a nice house party at Melanie’s with everyone, it was time to hit the place I was torn away from some 5/6 months ago. And that is the beautiful town, and my second home, Exeter! I won’t go into too much detail, with this blog being about my time in Germany, but it was wonderful seeing everyone again, as well as eating a Katsu Curry which I’ve craved since August, as well as a Nando’s, and seeing Florence + The Machine who obviously decided to play on Exeter because it was my 21st birthday.

Sadly, my Exeter visit was too short, and before I knew it I was on my way to Stansted to catch my flight to Hannover, and finally last night I arrived back, luckily in one piece after fears of weather warnings, and after a lovely chat with Elsa, my new housemate, I pretty much died as soon as I hit my pillow.

So much chocolate. So little complaining.

So much chocolate. So little complaining.

My day back at school has been brilliant, and today, 6th December, is also Nikolaustag, or Saint Nicholas Day in English, which is depressingly lacking in the British culture. Basically, on the night of 5th December, children clean their shoes and leave them outside their door, and Saint Nicholas comes in the night and, if the child has been good, their shoe is filled with wonderful chocolate and sweets. Due to this, I was not only given some chocolate for my birthday by the teachers at school, I was also given more chocolate because of it being Nikolaustag, meaning a second Hannover advent calendar (the first being from Elsa!), as well as numerous biscuits and other chocolate treats.

December is definitely my favourite month – birthday, St. Nicholas Day, and Christmas. What more could you ask for?!

And yet again the weekend ahead has lots of plans, including a trip to Hameln to visit Lucianna and the Christmas Market, a trip to Hamburg, and another Hannover 96 football match where I will proudly wear my brilliant Hannover 96 scarf given to me for my birthday by Millie. I’ll never have a bloody peaceful day!

