Yay for a happy ending!


So, back to the world of Germany. It’s been quite a mental week looking back, including the opening of the eagerly awaited Weihnachtsmärkte in Hannover (Christmas Markets), as well as my 6th move in the space of 4 months (think I’ve beaten my Auntie Di’s high score).

I won’t go into too much detail of what the opening of the Christmas Markets and turning on of the Christmas lights were like, but to put mine and Millie‘s experience into quick and easy words:

…They pressed the red button, nothing happened…

…There was a firework, there was a weird actor who ‘forgot’ to put the plugs in…

…They pressed the red button, nothing happened…

…A guy tight-rope walked across Kröpcke (town centre) to Adele – Skyfall to plug in another plug…

…They pressed the red button, nothing happened…

…A hot air balloon appeared, and a girl danced with two pieces of dangling red material (if anyone could let me know what that’s called that’d be fab)…

…They pressed the red button, nothing happened…

…A comedian started telling jokes about underwear. For about 10 minutes…

…They pressed the red button, nothing happened…

…A guy came on stage with diabolo sticks…

…The Oberbürgermeister (mayor) of Hannover appeared who had his own red button, and said that when he presses the button, we will have the most exciting 60 seconds of our life…

…He pressed the button, and every 10 seconds some fireworks went off, and then suddenly at 10 the whole of Kröpcke lit up with streams and streams of sparkles, and there were fireworks going off like crazy!

Hannover Christmas Markets

Hannover Christmas Markets!

So after the half hour wait, the ending was pretty damn worth it, though I had started filming from the start and my phone decided to run out of memory just 30 seconds into the final 60-second countdown which I wasn’t too pleased about, but at least I will always have the image of Kröpcke lighting up like that in my mind – it was pretty damn special, despite the fact I couldn’t take a photo of it.

Millie and I went to the Christmas Markets again yesterday, this time with Alex Brown (say in an American accent) and it was, again, very beautiful, but it’s still not put me into a festive feeling, probably because I’m too busy being excited for my birthday next week when I’ll be in Exeter eating Wagamama followed by going to see Florence + The Machine (as well as seeing everyone, of course…)

Fabi, Millie and Sabrina after a good ol’ Jim Blocks.

On Wednesday, Millie, Fabi, Sabrina and I, then the Mensching crew, or ‘Menschingboiz’ as Millie put on her Facebook status, went out for a farewell meal due to me moving out. I decided to take them to ‘das kleine Museum’, the French restaurant where I went with teaching staff of my school a couple of months ago. Though, unfortunately, the place was packed, and after a long and hard decision (i.e. me suggesting it and them agreeing), we went to none other than (you can probably finish this sentence without reading on) – Jim Block! Due to Fabi and Sabrina saying they’d never been before, it was a clear opportunity to chow down on yet another beautiful and unhealthy burger.

A wonderful Hannover advent calendar left in my new room by Elsa!

A wonderful Hannover advent calendar left in my new room by Elsa!

And then finally came moving day on Thursday, i.e. yesterday. As I mentioned a few blog posts ago, I found this WG (meaning ‘Wohngemeinschaft’ which literally means ‘Living community’. We’d just say ‘flat share’, I guess) in the Nordstadt (‘north town’) of Hannover, after a good 2 and a half months spent searching. After my wonderful experience living in a WG with Lisa back in September and the first half of October, I was utterly determined to find a WG to live in permanently for the rest of the year, and the hard work, panic, saying no to evil Langenhagen, stress, and 6 moves finally paid off, and I’m now living in a brilliant flat with two very lovely people, Elsa and Lars. Yay for a happy ending!

Today was also the kind of ‘official’ start of mine and Thilo’s “(Build up to) Christmas Project” for the UK-German Connection, in that I’ve asked all the kids in my class what they’re favourite words are, and Thilo will use those words to pair up my kids with his kids in England, and then next week the Christmas card making shall commence! The kids were so ‘begeistert’ when I talked about the project, they were throwing questions all over the place in utter excitement. Next week when it actually comes to finding out their partners’ names and designing the Christmas cards is going to be absolutely mental, but absolutely brilliant.

 

