The Summer Academy Has Come To An End


Well, what a week it has been. I now have nowhere to live (back to the ol’ drawing board), the summer academy is officially over, and tomorrow I am losing one of my closest friends I met here. So there’s pretty much a massive mixture of emotions, but generally it’s kind of a happy feeling, despite a lot of things coming to an end. I’ve also learnt when I’m down to play really loud music. Whilst typing this I am listening to Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs which, though sounds a little sad, is quite a happy song.

So, yeah – living situation. I think I mentioned in my last post that the plan was to live with a family in September, in which time I would find a WG and move out. Ilka and I went to see the family on Wednesday to discuss business, and Ilka’s first question was about me moving out after a month and if that is at all possible. And guess what? It wasn’t. The family wanted me to stay until at least April because that’s when the next semester starts. So that plan went out of the window. I’ve been to see another WG today, and it was with 2 guys who are students, and they were really friendly, and also really clean and have a Putzplan (cleaning rota) which I was quite happy to see. They were more than happy for me to have visitors (they even said they wouldn’t mind if someone stayed for one or two weeks in one go which shocked me but was also nice!) and they can, naturally, speak English, which they said they would if ever there was something I didn’t quite understand. They complimented me on my German (as all Germans seem to do!), but the only problem was that they have a lot of interest, and listed at least another 10 people who were interested and were coming to look at the flat in the next few days. So I don’t know what my chances are, but I really, really hope they pick me. Not only because it means I actually have somewhere to live, but also because it’s kind of the ideal living situation I want to be in – friendly flatmates my age who are happy for me to have visitors, and a very decent location in Hannover, being just 2 minutes away from the town centre by train, as well a direct link to IGS Roderbruch where I’ll be teaching in just under 2 weeks. But we shall see.

So, so lecker.

And the summer academy has come to an end. Looking back, I honestly think ‘where the effing hell have those three weeks gone?’. It makes me slightly worried that my year abroad is going to fly by in the blink of an eye. But I guess that always seems to happen with anything, and I’m going to make sure I make the most of it. After receiving my results (which I got a 1,0 for which, I think, is the best you can – whoop!), and holding a presentation on England (which included Gilberdyke, Exeter, Harry Potter and Yorkshire Puddings), me and my class, including the teacher, headed to café in the town centre which was absolutely lovely. The hot chocolate I had was honestly the best hot chocolate I have ever tried, and was only something like 2,40€.

Furthermore, being the polite, English gentleman that I am (a lot of people from the summer academy seem to think I’m über polite, especially Carmen and Gabi. It just feels wrong not being polite and not saying ‘bitte’ and ‘danke’), I paid for the coffee my teacher had. It just seemed the right thing to do to say thank you for the past 3 weeks. At first I thought I’d offended her because she looked really serious, but afterwards she smiled and said ‘herzlichen Dank!’ which was reassuring. It also turns out that her son goes to IGS Roderbruch, so I might well end up teaching him. It’d be nice if I was ever to say her again as she was a really lovely person!

I can see my house from here!

On Thursday, we decided to head back to the Rathaus (‘we’ being myself and the other class) and actually climb to the top. It cost just 2€ when we showed student ID cards, and it was an absolutely fantastic view. We had to go in a lift to the top (which slowly tilted round as you went up which my stomach didn’t really agree on much), but the view was well worth it. We spent a good half hour up there!

Last night, we had the Abschied Party (or ‘leaving do’ as I’d probably call it in English) which was fantastic. We all received cool tshirts, which I probably won’t wear here in Hannover as it’ll be the uncoolest thing to wear, but I’ll show it off whenever I’m in England. I drunk a lot of beer and kind of don’t remember the train journey home, but remember saying ‘bye’ to those who also live in my accommodation but in a different building. We had control of the music, too, so I naturally popped on a Florence song, as well as a Marina & The Diamonds song. I also got very excited when someone chose Fun. – We Are Young which I explained to everyone I sing with my mum in the car to (go on, you can cry again, Mum).

I’ve met such brilliant people through this summer course. It’s such a shame it was only 3 weeks long. Tomorrow, Carmen is flying back to Spain, and I’m really going to miss her, but she’s actually doing a year abroad in Freiburg from October, so I will hopefully be seeing her a few times throughout the year.

So, in general, a lot of good things, a few bad things, and quite a great deal of things to look forward to.

And I only arrived 3 weeks ago today!

Carmen, me and Gabi at the Abschied Party!

