The Night Full Of A Variety Of Dishes


Ha – check me out. Yet another day missed of writing a post. But here I am again. Of course.

We now have a new teacher for our class. We still have the old, boring one, but that’s only a few times. I think I’ve become teacher’s pet with the new one, and the reason being is quite… artistic? Maybe not artistic. But I felt like a right super geek. We were asked what kind of things we find ‘schön’ [which has many translations in English, but it’s something like ‘beautiful’]. Naturally, the rest of the class said things such as ‘Natur’, ‘Bäume’, ‘Strand’… [nature, trees, the beach…], but geek me decided to hit the question from a different point of view, and I said ‘Erinnerungen’, meaning ‘memories’. The reason being is that the teacher had brought lots of different pictures, and there was one which reminded me a lot of Exmouth. So when I said ‘Erinnerungen’, the teacher was dead impressed, and hence I became the teacher’s pet as I seemed to be on fire with interesting answers. I think there’s also the natural fondness due to me being English (which I’ve found a lot of Germans are fond of).

I took Salt & Vinegar kettle chips, as a small starter whilst cooking was taking place.

Moving onto the more exciting thing: Last night, we all headed to Carmen’s flat and had a massive cooking session, and we all brought something from our country. After only finding out about this just a few hours before it happened (it was literally me, and the entire of the other class who had organised it during their class) I decided to take the big bag of Salt and Vinegar crisps I had in my bag which I never ate. I also bought some Haribo as well so I didn’t feel too bad, even though I ended up forgetting to get them out because we were too busy chatting and it got late. I guess I should’ve expected it, but I was quite surprised when everyone was really excited about the crisps (or to make things confusing are actually called ‘chips’ in German). I mean, obviously to us (if you’re from England), crisps are… well… crisps. Nothing too exciting. Nice to have with a sandwich (or if you’re awesome like me actually in a sandwich), but other than that there isn’t really that much to them. However, the guys were very excited, which in a weird way was exciting to see. They all really enjoyed them I think, and we soon ran out quickly.

Carmen & Gabi with their Spanish dish.

And now I have to naturally go onto the Spaniards, Carmen and Gabi. This is partly because Carmen actually made a toast at the end and recommended my blog (gracias, Carmen!), but it’s also because Carmen and Gabi said they have to come first. So here they are. Like names of people, I appear to also not be good with names of foods. However, Gabi cooked a… it was an omelette maybe? (Probably embarrassing myself here!) but it had lots of potatoes and it tasted really, really good. I’m slowly learning Spanish, including, of course, ¿Dónde está el vaquero? and I’ve also found (or more remembered) that I am really bad at rolling my ‘r’s. I can’t even say the word ‘dog’ in Spanish, perro, without sounding English. I know many of you reading this will have probably been with me at some point trying to help my roll my ‘r’s, and so you probably know I simply can’t do it without sounding like I’m choking or having some sort of fit. I am determined to learn how to do it though. One day.

Irina and her signature dish.

Then we move onto Russia. And again, I can’t remember the name of the dish, however it tasted bloody good! Irina was the chef, and I think she said it was actually a French dish, but she ate it often at home in Russia. It had some sort of chicken in and stuff. Moving onto some of the language we learned, it turned out we actually only learnt bad words. A hilarious example being the word you say when you’re in a photo and have to smile. Of course, in English, it’s ‘cheese’. In Spanish, I believe they say ‘patatas’ (potatoes) which we said a lot of. In Russia, however, they basically say a bit of a vulgar word for a lady’s breasts. I’d write it here but I don’t know the Russian alphabet, and mainly I don’t want to cause any offence. Irina also taught us how to say ‘go away’ (but in a more harsh way), and so, as I said, we seemed to only learn vulgar things. But still; it’s more words I can say in a different language!

Pinar & Gülnur with the donör kebap.

Now we come to Turkey. And we have the Donor Kebab (or donör kebap I believe it is in Turkish). Though I’ve had a donor kebab before, it was still brilliant to have one when not drunk. I mentioned to Pinar that I’d usually only eat a kebab when I’d had a bit to drink, and she nodded her head with no disapproval on her face, so she’s probably heard of that before. During the evening, Turkish is the language we talked about the most. And bloody hell it’s confusing. For example, to say “I am a student” in Turkish, it’s one word: ‘Öğrenciyim’ (which sounded a little like ‘Orange Jim’ which made me laugh). Then, if you want to say “You are a student”, it’s ‘Öğrencisin’. Like whaaaaat? It was dead cool to learn that stuff though. I also learnt ‘I can’t find’ and ‘I can’t be bothered’, but I won’t strain myself writing those. I actually find it quite a pity that everyone can speak English. It means I can’t really teach anything, and ‘I am a student’ in English is just not exciting whatsoever when everyone can speak English. I thought about teaching them some Yorkshire accent, but decided I’ll save that for another day.

Shelly and the noodles.

Our last dish was from Taiwan. There were two types of sauces we had with noodles. I apologise in advance if both don’t originate in Taiwan, but it is sometimes hard to understand in German when the room is loud and none of us can speak fluent German! The first sauce we tried we were told might be spicy for us (which in German is ‘scharf’ which also means ‘sharp’, so I panicked a little bit when Shelly started shouting ‘scharf! Es ist scharf!’) And, to be honest, it wasn’t that spicy at all. It left a little tingle in your mouth but I could easily eat it without having to drink between every mouthful, and I’m usually really bad with spice. Though there were certain people who actually found it too spicy which I was quite surprised at, but I guess coming from different cultures we have different things we’re used to! The second sauce I thought was better, and wasn’t spicy in the slightest. Lukas is also from Taiwan (I think) but he didn’t help with any of the cooking, so Shelly said he didn’t deserve to be in a photo with the noodles. Which is fair enough.

Tunbi brought the beer!

Last but not least, Tunbi, from Nigeria, didn’t bring any food, rather he brought some German beer. Carmen and I went with him to Lidl before we went to Carmen’s accommodation, and I was actually quite surprised how cheap the beer was. I don’t know if it was a cheap, crappy beer, but it cost just over 2 Euros for 6 beers. I don’t drink beer in England so can’t compare with our prices, but either way I thought it was very cheap, and me being no beer expert, it tasted alright and I could drink it!

And that was the night full of a variety of dishes. It was excellent. I believe the initial plan for the meeting was that their class had to watch a film as homework, but we ended up not watching any film and just chatting and eating all night. It got to about 11pm, and a girl came into the kitchen in her dressing gown asking us to be quiet (we didn’t realise how late it was) so we decided to call it a night. The S-Bahn was about 25 minutes back to my accommodation (where Panir and Ying-Hsuan also live) but it was definitely worth it. Never have I eaten such a variety of foods on one single plate in one night, but I’d definitely do it again, and I promised them that next time, I’m making Yorkshire Puds.

